Breaking News

Tension in Amosun’s APC faction as 8 lawmakers defect to PDP, SDP

ABEOKUTA—Palpable fear has gripped Ogun State governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun’s camp following the defection of eight lawmakers to the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, and Social Democratic Party, SDP, in the state.
Chief Segun Osoba and Ogun State governor, Ibikunle Amosun
Chief Segun Osoba and Ogun State governor, Ibikunle Amosun
Speaker of the House, Suraj Adekunbi disclosed the decamping, yesterday, during plenary, while reading a letter announcing the defection of eight lawmakers to the PDP and the SDP.
Adekunbi said: “I received a letter announcing the defection of Messers Joseph Adegbesan, Salmon Adeleke, John Obafemi, Remmy Hazzan and Obafemi Olowo-Oloja to the PDP.
“I also got three letters this morning from Hons. Olufemi Allen-Taylor, Oludaisi Elemide and Elizabeth Anifowose announcing their defection from the All Progressives Congress, APC, to the Social Democratic Party, SDP.”
Adegbesan, Adeleke and Obafemi had dumped the Peoples Party of Nigeria, PPN, to join the PDP while Hazzan and Olowo-Oloja also dumped the APC for the PDP.
Allen-Taylor, Elemide and Anifowose who were members of the APC defected to the SDP.
Vanguard gathered that the development has sent jitters into the APC camp of Amosun as the governor was planning to present the 2015 budget proposal to the state House of Assembly on November 18.
The Speaker who also read  the governor’s letter during plenary  said he will present the fiscal proposal at 10. am.
According to him; “This is in accordance with the provision of section 121 of the Nigerian constitution.
“Governor Amosun expressed gratitude to the members of Ogun State House of Assembly for their cooperation with the executive,” the letter said.
The House after the latest defections is divided into two main camps with 13 members including the speaker in Amosun’s APC faction, while PDP and SDP also have combined figure of 13 lawmakers.

No comments