Breaking News

Bayelsa Poll: PDP’s Seriake Dickson leads, as INEC announces results in 5 LGAs.

Governor Seriake Dickson has a clear lead in the Bayelsa State governorship election, according to results announced so far by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Mr. Dickson, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, won in four of the five local government areas announced on Sunday by INEC.

He has so far garnered a total of 81, 929 votes, while his closest rival, Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress got a total of 56, 514 votes.

The margin of lead is 25, 415.

Mr. Sylva won only in Brass Local Government Area where he comes from.

He got 21,755 votes, while Dickson got 6,516 votes.

Mr. Dickson, besides winning 28, 934 votes in Sagbama where he comes from, also won big – 24, 258 – votes in Yenagoa, the capital of Bayelsa State.

Mr. Sylva got 5, 382 votes in Sagbama, and 14, 563 votes in Yenagoa.

In Kolokuma/Opokuma Local Government Area, Mr. Dickson had 7,619 votes, while Mr. Sylva had 6,896.

Timi Alaibe, a former managing director of Niger Delta Development Commission and a member of APC is from the local government area.

In Ekeremor, Mr. Dickson had 14,602 votes, while Mr. Sylva got 7,918 votes.

Results were still being expected from Nembe, Southern Ijaw, and Ogbia local government areas.

No comments